Things I love about BRS and easyconsult


Working as an intern at BRS & easyconsult has been one of the best experiences I have had so far. It was an exciting learning journey that I really enjoyed from the beginning to the end. I can’t help sharing this terrific experience with you because I know I am one of only a few interns out there who are 200% happy about their experience.

So, what makes me such a big fan of this company?

I love being part of a small team with only less than 10 people ( but the work it delivers is enormous). I was not overwhelmed when walking into the office. I didn’t struggle to remember names of each individual, and didn’t feel like I’m a little fish in a big pond. And more importantly, thanks to the small size, we got to know each other better, our strategy was better communicated and support was provided in a timely fashion.

I love talking and having a good laugh even when we were working. Instead of focusing too much on our own tasks, keeping silent and forgetting about what’s happening around us, I realized that it was better to spend time communicating with the team, telling jokes and breaking the ice in the office. This was something I was not familiar with initially due to my culture and previous experience. Straining our eyes in front of computer screens continuously without talking or laughing is very stressful. Chatting with others during office hours not only energizes us but also inspires us with more ideas and solutions to our problems. Now I really miss hearing Kym’s big laughs from the distance, listening to Erin talking about her dog, Kim telling about the movie she watched over the weekend, seeing Nicole describing how her son wanted a penguin pet, Jodie getting excited about her trip to Italy, and Sarah explaining the benefits of going vegans, and Louise showing pictures of her lovely daughters…

I love the proactivity of everyone in the team, from which I have learned so much. “It is better to ask for forgiveness than permission”, Kym, the manager, told me in one of our meetings. Being proactive means taking conscious control of situations instead of passively reacting to unexpected events. At BRS and easyconsult, everyone shows their proactivity by addressing problems and finding solutions before they are told what to do. Without the pressure to conform to expectations, everyone knows their own goals and be a leader in themselves, all working towards a common goal. Over the internship, I grew from an “obedient child” to a person who is more proactive in my choices, willing to take risks and I dare to make mistakes rather than asking for permission for fear of doing the wrong things.

I love being surrounded by positive people in the office. When being screwed up, we know that things will get better down the track, and look to deal with the situation rather than worrying too much. BRS has won so many awards such as Telstra Business Award, BRW Fast Starters, and startup smart awards. What’s the secret of a business that not only survived the economic downturn but also doubled their revenue? I would say it is the power of positivity, which results in positive outcomes.

I love the sheets of plans and goals on the walls as a reminder for the team to focus on our mission.

I love being challenged when someone asked me why I did this, why I did that, and what I could do to make it better.

I love it when someone asked me ” Do you need any help at all?”

I love it when someone returned from her lunch with a pack of chocolates and shared with everyone else.

I love it when we all cheered and clapped for getting more members into easyconsult coaching program.

There are so many other things I love about this wonderful place that I can’t fit them all to this blog space.

934701_261086767350011_1891152321_n

The team was well rewarded for their efforts

After all, I was so proud being part of this fantastic team, being part of easyconsult, a world-class coaching program that will go places in the future. And I believe that everyone in the team would be proud too. The power of having a great culture is huge, when the team becomes a family, when common goals become personal goals, when common success is everyone’s success.

I never knew that there exists such a great business culture until I worked here 🙂

3 comments

  1. Sarah Edson · October 16, 2013

    What a lovely blog Michelle. It was a pleasure working with you! I look forward to keeping up to date with your journey and reading your future blog posts.

  2. Erin Petrys · October 16, 2013

    Thanks Michelle, so glad you enjoyed your time here! And yes, I’m still talking about my dog. 🙂

What do you think about this post?

